Twitter Whore!

Posted on August 7, 2008

3



What is a twitter whore, and how do I become one?
that’s the question i want answered today!
Well lets define the words first so we know what we are dealing with.
According to Wikipedia, Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that allows users to send updates (otherwise known as tweets) which are text-based posts of up to 140 characters in length.
From wiktionary we find out that whore means, A prostitute; A person who is considered to be sexually promiscuous; A person who is unscrupulous, especially one who compromises their principles for gain; To prostitute oneself; To engage the services of a prostitute; To pimp; to pander
So according to this, TwitterWhore is basically a social networker whom compromises their principles for gain, that is also sexually promiscuous? or is it a social networking pimp??
Do these social networking pimps get a percentage of the cash that is being generated by what they pimp out? I mean because if you found a pimp on the street and talked to them, they would tell you that they take a percentage of the “wages” their prostitutes bring in, its only logical to think that a twitterwhore (or better yet twitterpimp) would gain something out of it too!
So what are we pimping out that’s worth paying for? My lunch menu? I don’t think people are going to pay me to hear what I had for lunch (plus they would be sadly disappointed when I tell them that I didn’t eat anything for lunch because that’s normal for me). What about the other things I’m doing… NAHHHH, I don’t think they would pay for that either! Now I do have a blog as you can plainly see, but I don’t sell anything on it so I can’t pimp out my blog for monetary gain!
We must be on the wrong track here so I’m off to search for more answers!
Okay, I’ve returned and have come back with a bit more knowledge. I watched and studied the video “Twitter Whore” parts I and II by Lisa Nova! I think I finally figured out what a TwitterWhore is!
1. we must post every aspect of our life on twitter no matter how demeaning or embarrassing it might be.
2. we must not sleep or we will miss something
3. mobile updates must be on at all time when you are away from a computer.
4. totally freak out when twitter is down but keep refreshing every second till its back up
5. give everyone your username and ask them to follow you, just to help raise that follower base!
6. reply to EVERYTHING! The more you reply the more people will talk to you!
So far that’s what I have but I’m sure I will find more! If you have more to add, let me know. I’m off to start my journey as a TWITTERWHORE!
Posted in: Uncategorized