The age ol’ question…

Posted on August 28, 2008

0



what age is appropriate for a child to have a cell phone?

They were talking about this on the radio this morning on 96.9 WLAN. One woman called in and said that she gave her kids prepaid cellphones at the ages of 7 and 12. I think 7 is a bit extreme and even 12 is cutting it a bit close.

When I was those ages, I never would have even been able to take care of a cellphone let alone remember where it was in my mess of a room or even to charge it each night to make sure the battery was full before I left the house. I just wasn’t responsible enough for that. I think we are giving our children to much responsibilities and trying to turn them into mini adults at a very young age. Yes having an independent child is great but let kids be kids. They are suppose to be irresponsible, and forgetful, and stuff like that.. its how they learn lessons for when they grow older. Also they are suppose to be respectful and I don’t think giving into their demands of having a cellphone helps them learn respect. It only shows them that if they kick and scream enough that they will get what they want!

Oh the other hand I believe that cellphones are a great electronic. In case of emergencies they are there for you, but do you need it every day. My suggestion is to give a child a prepaid cell when they will be away from home either far away or where they may need to call you and let you know something like “OH practice is cutting short, come get me in 30 min so I’m not sitting here for an hour waiting without anyone else around”. There are always exceptions to the rules like I’ve just shown.

What do you think???

Tagged: ,
Posted in: family, opinion