Flashbacks of a Myspace blog

Posted on October 20, 2008

0



Sometimes you have to go through old boxes and kind of sift through the papers.  While doing that you find old papers that make you laugh, cry, and even ponder bigger questions. 

Going through old blogs are kind of the same thing.  A few minutes ago I was going through an old Myspace blog.  You can tell the difference between old Jess and new Jess.  I wanted to share a few of them because they were from a time in my life that I was struggling and by posting them helped me see the light at times.  Granted, I wasn’t cured but it helped! 

 I’ve learned (unknown author)
I’ve learned-
you can do something in an instant
that will give you heartache for life.
I’ve learned –
it’s taking me a long time
to become the person I want to be.
I’ve learned –
you should always leave loved ones
with loving words.
It may be the last time you see them.
I’ve learned –
you can keep going
long after you think you can’t.
I’ve learned –
we are responsible for what we do
regardless of how we feel
I’ve learned –
either you control your attitude
or it controls you.
I’ve learned –
regardless of how hot and
steamy a relationship is at first,
the passion fades and there had better be
something else to take its place.
I’ve learned –
heroes are the people
who do what had to be done,
when it needs to be done,
regardless of the consequences.
I’ve learned –
money is a lousy way of keeping score.
I’ve learned –
my best friend and I can do anything
or nothing and have the best time.
I’ve learned –
sometimes the people you expect
to kick you when you’re down,
will be the ones to help you get back up.
I’ve learned –
sometimes when I’m angry
I have the right to be angry,
but that doesn’t give me
the right to be cruel.
I’ve learned –
true friendship continues to grow,
even over the longest distance.
same goes for true love.
I’ve learned –
just because someone doesn’t love
you the way you want them to
doesn’t mean
they don’t love you with all they have.
I’ve learned –
maturity has more to do with
what types of experiences you’ve had
and what you’ve learned from them
and less to do with how many
birthdays you’ve celebrated.
I’ve learned –
no matter how good a friend is,
he/she is going to hurt you
every once in a while
and
you must forgive them for that.
I’ve learned –
it isn’t always enough to be
forgiven by others.
sometimes you
have to learn to forgive yourself
I’ve learned –
no matter how bad your heart is broken
the world doesn’t stop for your grief.
I’ve learned –
our background and circumstances
may have influenced who we are,
but we are responsible for who we become.
I’ve learned –
just because two people argue.
it doesn’t mean they don’t love each other
and just because they don’t argue,
it doesn’t mean they do.
I’ve learned –
we don’t have to change friends
if we understand that friends change.
I’ve learned –
you shouldn’t be so eager
to find out a secret.
it could change your life
forever.
I’ve learned –
two people can look at the exact
same thing and see something totally
different.
I’ve learned –
your life can be changed in a matter of
hours by people who don’t even know you.
I’ve learned –
even when you think you have no more
to give, when a friend cries out to you
you will find the strength to help
I’ve learned –
credentials on the wall
do not
make you a decent human being
I’ve learned –
the people you care about most in life
are taken from you too soon.
_____________________________________________________

20 ways to love yourself (unknown author)

~Do go with your instincts and follow your heart.  You will feel good about yourself when you are doing what feels right inside.
~Don’t be lazy about your health and appearance.  The effort you put into eating well and exercising will pay off.  (I have yet to do this)
~Comfort a friend.  Try to cheer them up .  When you are focused on their problems, yours will seem smaller
~Do find your strengths and talents (everyone has some) and make the most of them!
~Don’t be so desperate to have a boyfriend or girlfriend that you use someone you don’t care about to let them use you.  No one feels good in a relationship that lacks caring.
~Do take responsibility for yourself
~Don’t assume that others know or “should know” your needs and desires.  Say what you want.
~Do set goals for yourself that you can achieve-with effort-in the near future.
~Don’t waste energy worrying
about things you can’t control.  Accepting what you can’t change frees up energy to take control in other aspects of your life.
~Do hang with positive people who respect themselves and others.
~Don’t forget to smile, even when you feel bad.  Others will smile back at you
~Do something you are good at.  Congratulate yourself for doing it well
~Do connect with someone you care about.  Feeling connected feels good.
~Do create something.  Bake cookies, draw a picture.  Making something happen says, “world, I was here today” and that feels good.
~Do write a journal.  Put those jumbled thoughts and feelings down on paper. Suddenly what seemed confusing becomes much clearer, and you feel better.
~Do clean up a mess. Creating order out of chaos gives you a feeling of control.
~Do someone a favor.  Helping others feels good
~Help out in your neighborhood. Even small efforts to make your world a better place can pay off in good feelings about yourself.
~Challenge yourself. Take pride in your accomplishments
~SING! It is impossible to feel bad about yourself when you are singing even if you can’t carry a tune. SING LOUDLY!!!! 
________________________________________

AFFIRMATIONS (unknown author)

1. I am loved because I deserve to be loved.
2. I forgive myself for hurting others, and I forgive others for hurting me.
3. I will accept love.
4. I will surround myself with love and kindness.
5. I am capable of change.
6. I love and approve of myself.
7. I am going to be the best ME that I can be.
8. The past has no power over me.
9. Learn from the past, don’t live there
10.Truth is the unchangeable part of me.
11. Stand up for what you believe
12. I am going to be my own person and resist anyone who tries to stop me.
13. You get treated the way you teach people to treat you.
14. The world will not limit my happiness.
15. Nothing will change in my life if I don’t do something different from what I have been doing.
16. There is no way to happiness… Happiness is the way.
17. What other people think of me is totally up to them.
18. The choice is always mine
19. People will not always understand me.
20. I always have options.
21. Learn from the past; don’t live there
22. I will make each moment a pleasant one
23. I am what I choose to be.
24. Success is a journey, not a destination
25. The past has no power over me.
26. I deserve the best and I accept it now.
27. Truth is the unchangeable part of me
28. The most effective teacher in the world is behavior.
29. Make every moment of your life something to appreciate.
30. Love me for what I am, not what you want me to be.
31. If you don’t forgive then you will be the oly person to suffer.
32. Even if you are on the right track, you will get run over if you just sit there.
33. I AM MY OWN BEST FRIEND

______________________________________

Okay last one for today! 

Autobiography in 5 short chapters
By Portia Nelson

I
I walk down the street.  There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.  I fall in.  I am lost…. I am helpless.  It isn’t my fault.
It takes me forever to find a way out

II
I walk down the same street.  There is a deep hole i the sidewalk.  I pretend I don’t see it. 
I fall in again.  I can’t believe I am in the same place, but it isn’t my fault. 
It still takes a long time to get out.

III
I walk down the street.  There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.  I still fall in… it’s a habit, my eyes are open.
I know where I am.  It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

IV
I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

V
I walk down another street.

Hopefully someone out there appreciates this post and it helps someone out there!  I know it helped me the first time I read them. 

 

 

 

Posted in: random