(random movie title) part 38

Posted on May 14, 2010

2



Is it just me or has society completely lost its creativity?  You cannot tell me there is not one single original idea left out there.  Have we all grown dependent on other peoples work?  Can we not think for ourselves?

I know… random questions to be asking at almost 11pm EST!  Today I was watching a movie trailer for Super 8.  Now that seems to be a pretty decent original idea.  Sure it is based off of some factual stuff, with some fictional thrown in there but its not a remake of some 1980’s movie or a sequel to another movie.  It seems to be a genuine idea.  It’s being produced by Steven Spielberg and directed by J.J. Abrams.

After watching that trailer, I decided to look at some others.  Of course there was the Eclipse trailer that is coming out  in June but the next one I saw was Step Up 3D.  Not only is this a sequel to a dying brand, its also going to be in 3D… THREE D!!!  Sure 3D is a pretty sweet deal, but do we now need to see everything that way?  Do I really want to see dancers popping out of the screen  I guess its a trend these days, hopefully it dies off soon but the real question is… WHEN do sequels end?  When is enough ENOUGH?

I mean, come on… Saw was okay for the first three movies but when the hell are they going to end it?

And what the hell is up with Michael Bay remaking old movies?  I don’t even know where to begin with him.  It’s like he wants to be crowned “Remake King”.

What do you guys think?  Do you think there is a time to say enough when it comes to sequels?  What do you think about all these remakes of old movies?  Do you think that every original idea has already been done so we need to recycle other peoples material?

Posted in: Uncategorized