Oh to be young again…

Posted on September 9, 2010

0



When I signed on to facebook those many years ago, I actually only signed up so I could make one quick comment.  Today I find myself with over 550 friends (in real life & online friends).  The newest addition to my facebook friends are those that are young enough to be my daughter.  In fact, they are my daughters friends!

But thats not my story… SURE, I could go on and on about how children that age shouldn’t be on facebook or argue that parents don’t limit their children enough or whatever, but NO!  I actually wanted to talk about how these young girls (and a few boys) make me laugh some days.

Yesterday, I happened to see a post made by one of my daughters BFF’s.  It started off like any normal status stating that she was confused by her locker and wondered when they would receive text books.  It was the next to the last line of the status that really set it off.  If you don’t believe me, just take a look for yourself!

Normally my mother mode kicks in hardcore and I’m like “NO WAY, you don’t need to worry about boys” but I just couldn’t.  This status made me laugh so hard and to think about how my friends and I did the EXACT same thing.

BUT this story isn’t all rainbows and unicorns!

While this was something that made me laugh there have been some equally shocking things that make me think, WOW when I read them.  NO, not the fact that I’m seeing a 5th grader say the word FUCK on her facebook wall (even though that is shocking, but I said I wasn’t going there) but the fact that some of these kids can’t fucking spell!  Simple words that should be spelled right.  Sure, I know most kids use text speak when they are online which is fine but I’m not talking words that you type that way.  I saw one girl spell “COUGH” as “COUCH” ok, simple mistake only one letter off.  Am I being too overly critical or not?  I know that they are young but is it the school system that is failing or are our kids being extremely lazy?  I’m still trying to figure that part out!

Let me know what you think!  But if you ever want a good laugh, find a pre-teen, friend them on facebook (only if you know them because we don’t need someone calling you a pedo) and watch their statuses!  FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY!

Posted in: Uncategorized