Cell Phones and Pre-teens

Posted on September 12, 2010

3



This is not a question of if I SHOULD or SHOULDN’T let my daughter have a cell phone, it is more a question of WHAT https://i2.wp.com/pulse2.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/att-logo.jpgshould I get her?!

With school back in session and kids doing all their sports, it gets kind of hard for a single mother to be in 3 places at once.  Gymnastics, boy’s soccer, and girl’s soccer.  If I could split myself into 3 some days, I WOULD.  Hell, there are even days when I have to make dinner early just so we can take it with us as soon as they get home from school at 3:30pm.

https://i1.wp.com/www.contentwire.com/img/oejNNAnyuB5KHEmh.jpgBecause of all this running, one of my kids usually has to suffer a little (which I hate).  This means the oldest usually gets dropped off to practice or a game and I run off with one of the younger two.  THIS is my main reason for getting her a phone.  I’m also getting it for her for two other reason.  First, she just started Jr. High and we have already had our first “missed bus” incident.  I don’t fear she won’t be able to call me, I fear that if I ask her to start walking home and to meet me half way that she will run into a problem.  And finally, she is getting older and needs some responsibilities outside of her normal chores.  I want her to learn the importance of self control when it comes to budgeting your time as well as your finances.  With a pre-paid phone she will learn this (hopefully), and she will learn that if you go over your minutes before times is up, then you are screwed!

SO with that said… What do you think is the best way to go about this whole PHONE thing?  I have in my possession a Straight Talk cellular phone (unfortunately it is one that works on the verizon network so in the house and a few other places around here, it gets crap service but I can get one that works off the AT&T network).  Do you think straight talk is the way to go?  Don’t give me specific networks to stick with, because verizon has already proven to have some spotty reception around here.  I personally have an AT&T phone and the service is great (the phone of https://i2.wp.com/pocketnow.com/html/portal/news/0000011571//Verizon-Kins-to-Be-Charged-70.jpgcourse is shit, but I’ll save that for another day).

Give me your ideas.  For now I’m going to keep this straight talk phone and try her out for a month, but if I find something better than I may switch.

Posted in: Uncategorized